Skip to content

Going Batty: The Lockdown Chronicles, Part 2 by Frank Kusy

January 19, 2024

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


It’s been a while since I read Frank Kusy’s Lockdown Chronicles Part One, which I enjoyed immensely. However, I couldn’t help wondering if Part 2 would just be more of the same. I am delighted to say I thoroughly enjoyed this sequel and was just as entertained by Frank and Madge’s special way of enduring the awful swings and roundabouts of the chaotic pandemic regulations they were subjected to in England.

Frank is completely honest about their opinions on the way the pandemic and the vaccination rollouts were handled, but he somehow manages to reveal the madness without being cutting or bitter and his humour overrides it all. I loved all the memes and social media jokes; I enjoyed their daily trips out, often in sensible defiance of the rule to stay indoors; and I laughed at their interactions with the various people who coloured their lives during this taxing period.

Above all, I felt as if I got to know this lovely couple as I shared their daily lives for the duration. It seems hard to imagine it was only two years ago, but it’s even more important that he has written these books as a result. Well done, Mr Kusy. This is a great read and a brilliant record of the time.



View all my reviews

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment