Skip to content

A Year On Land and Sea by Stephen Malins

January 19, 2024

This is my first memoir review of 2024. Watch this site for further reviews in the coming weeks and months

This book by Stephen Malins was both a surprise and a pleasure to read. I realise I bought it a year ago now, so I’m happy to say it’s been worth waiting for. Although I thought it would be more about sailing (my fault for not reading the blurb with attention), I really enjoyed the parts about Stephen’s army training and his other travels, which were intermingled with his sailing adventures in Scotland and across the Atlantic.

The book is all about a young man seeking adventure and the path he wants to take in life, so I appreciated that he didn’t ‘sanitise’ his less admirable exploits and I came to admire his courage and determination in some pretty difficult situations.

Altogether, this was a great read, and I’m looking forward to the next book now. Stephen Malins has a lovely writing style for both descriptive narrative and humour; he is both articulate and funny. Highly recommended!



View all my reviews

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment