Skip to content

From an Umbrian Farmhouse to Como’s Quiet Shores by E.J. Bauer

March 16, 2024



My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I’ve loved both of EJ Bauer’s earlier books and this one was no disappointment. Elizabeth and her sister, Louise, take us on a delightful leisurely tour from Rome to Venice and ultimately to Lake Como. However, the author’s journey begins in Umbria, where she and her brother enjoy a special week of cookery classes in a gorgeous farmhouse, a part of Italy I don’t know but now long to visit. I loved the gentle pace of the journey, the observations on the ‘side scenes’ Elizabeth sees, the focus on the cats they meet on their path and the conversations with the people they encounter. This was Italy from a delightfully personal perspective and I especially enjoyed re-living the Cinque Terra, Pisa and Florence, all places I’ve been to in recent years. Altogether, this is a charming travel memoir to be read and toasted, preferably with a glass of Italian white wine. Sit back, relax and enjoy the experience through Ms Bauer’s sensitively written descriptions.



View all my reviews

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. When you recommend a book, Val, folks can count on it being good! Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment