Skip to content

Hot Pools, Paua Shells & a Pandemic: Travels around the world by Lisa Rose Wright

January 19, 2024


I originally read and reviewed this book in November 2023

This is now the fifth book by Lisa Rose Wright I’ve read and, as always, I am instantly absorbed in her world. Once again, Lisa and her husband, S, depart their lovely home in Galicia on a grand adventure, this time to visit friends in New Zealand and tour the country doing workaway spells as voluntary helpers in people’s houses they go. Leaving her mother with her brother and his wife in France, they set off across the world.

However, it is early in 2020, and what they aren’t aware of is that they are constantly dodging a certain virus that is threatening to shut that world down. I enjoyed reading about New Zealand and its beauties very much, and there are now numerous places on my list of ‘must visit’ spots should I ever get there. Learning about the different rules and customs in New Zealand was also fascinating. However, the couple gradually realise their trip home is in jeopardy due to the spread of the Covid virus and their adventures take a stressful turn when they find they will have to face strict lockdown rules. Mum is in France and the borders are closing behind them as they race to get back.

I loved the last part of the book when, home again and forced to remain there, Lisa and S rediscover their love of Galicia and their own environs. This was a really beautifully written part with gorgeous descriptions of the scenery around them. I also enjoyed the witty email exchanges between Lisa and her brother, giving us some humour in between their concerns about their mum’s situation. Altogether, this memoir is both a terrific travelogue and a poignant record of what life was like in 2020. I loved it and can recommend it unreservedly.



View all my reviews

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment