Skip to content

The Yard – How a Horse Healed my Heart by Grace Olsen

June 16, 2024



My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I wasn’t sure about this book to begin with, as although I love horses, I was hesitant about the premise of Grace’s return to riding being connected with her recovery from post natal-natal depression. I needn’t have worried it would be very introspective, though. The people she meets in both yards where she loans horses were so much fun and some were so eccentric, I was both captivated and electrified.

This is a lovely, heartwarming and fun read with a cast of fabulous characters and an almost fairytale ending. I also learned a lot about the wonderful intuitiveness of horses and I was so happy for Grace that she was able to conquer her self-doubt and find herself again. The Yard is well worth reading for a several reasons: it’s a lesson in how therapeutic working with animals can be, it’s a story of love and friendship, and it’s a wonderful glimpse into English Life, character and humour.



View all my reviews

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment